top of page
Search
  • M

Five Items you Should Steal from your Mom's Closet

If you're into the thrifted/vintage/80s and 90s look, your mom's old clothes might just be

very valuable to you. Here are 5 things you should definitely steal from her. (As long as she's ok with it, obviously)


Turtlenecks, or really just sweaters in general.

My mom used to love sweaters, especially turtlenecks and cardigans. We also happen to be pretty close to the same size. My favorite things are chunky cotton knit sweaters, solid colored turtlenecks, and cable knits. There are so many sweaters in regular and thrift stores, but most of them are made out of a synthetic fabric. There's nothing wrong with synthetics, but something about cotton and wool sweaters feel so much better.


3/4 length sleeve shirts.

My mom had so many of these. not everyone likes to wear them, but I am obsessed with this sleeve length on me. It can sometimes be hard to find them in stores, so finding some free ones is perfect. I love these shirts because they can be worn any time of the year and with pretty much anything. I think the length is really flattering and looks feminine in a classy way.


Jeans.

My mom and I don't wear the same size in pants, but I really wish I did. Old denim is one of my favorite things. Something about is it just so much better than new denim. It might be because the fabric has a higher cotton content, which I always prefer over polyester in jeans. If your mom has any nice old jeans, definitely ask her for them. They are getting harder and harder to find at thrift stores (probably because people are realizing how amazing vintage jeans are).


Winter coats.

The big, long trench coats are back in style. They were in the 80s too. Guess who was buying clothes in the 80s? Probably your mom (well, mine was anyway). Everyone has coats that get pushed to the back of the closet when the season changes. Sometimes they never come back out to be worn again. Wool and tweed coats can be expensive, and are really hard to find a thrift stores.


Lockets and watches (90s style jewelry).

Think of those skinny silver watches with the small face, the gold lockets with the thick chain, and short hoop earrings. They're all classic pieces of jewelry, meaning your mom might have some. Urban Outfitters sells some jewelry like this, but sometimes it's obvious that it isn't real vintage, only vintage inspired. Nothing is better than the real thing, and who knows, hers may even be real gold.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page