top of page
Search
  • M

How to Pull off Animal Print

If you can figure out how to wear animal prints well, you'll always stand out. So animal print is back in style. Some people love it, others hate it. I remember loving it in the early 2000s when I was in elementary school, so I was thrilled when I started seeing it back in stores. My personal favorite has always been the classic brown leopard print, but I've noticed a lot of different ones popping up. If you do love animal prints and want to hop on the trend, here are some ways to make it work. Chose one animal print item to wear. Don't try to pull off multiple animal print items at the same time. Choosing one statement piece is best, such as boots, a coat, a belt, ect. My favorite items are a pair of leopard print boots and a fur coat. I probably wouldn't wear both of these at the same time. The print could be a different size or the colors could be slightly different. Unless they were pieces in a set or came from the same store, chances are they wouldn't match well. Neutralize the rest of your outfit. Trying to wear other prints or patterns with an animal print could look messy. I feel like in some cases it could work, but it would hard to find another print that went well. I like to wear mostly black with my leopard coat because it keeps the outfit from being too busy. Pick your metals accordingly. This is more of a personal preference thing, but I like to match certain metals with warm or cool colors. For example, brown leopard print or orange tiger print are warm, so I would wear gold with these. If I was wearing black and white cow print, I would wear silver. I think that gold goes better with warm fabrics and silver goes better with cool ones. Try a pop of color. I said that I like to wear black with my animal prints, but I think it could be really fun to add some bright colors. I've seen forrest greens and deep eggplants with animal prints, and it always looks really classy. An ice blue would be nice with a black and white cow or leopard print. A soft pink or yellow would as well. Like I mentioned with matching the metals with the warm and cool, I also like to match the color pop temperature with the print color temperature.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page